A catch up on my hobby

A general post on what I’ve been up to for the last 3 months and what I plan to be up to with painting and gaming.

First things first, I sold a lot of my Ressers for Malifaux, Molly, Seamus, Nicodem, McMourning and most of the stuff that goes with them which included a fair amount of models.

Why?

A few reasons…. I’m not a massive fan of going back to projects.  Finding the same basing, paint scheme etc is a ball ache.  I really like running with an idea and seeing it through to completion and it’s done. I can then game with it for a good while and then move it on to fund other projects.

With almost a full faction of stuff, interchanging it and adding to it with the same basing, paint styles etc wasn’t motivating me or satisfying my painting itches.

What I’d really rather do is pick a master, get everything for it, paint it all on the same basing and add in proxies/conversions if needs be, making it more themed to the style I want it, a self contained crew, it pleases me more.  This is what I’ll be doing in Malifaux from now on, no faction collecting, just crews. Even if I have to dulpicate models for different crews I don’t care.

First i shall be going back and finishing my half-done projects, half-finished really irks me so that’ll be Freikorps next, followed by Kirai that I started over a year ago, Misaki and maybe Yan Lo but he’s significantly on the back burner.  Ohh, also add to the Viks a little bit too to call the crew finished.

I’ve not been to a Malifaux tournament or been playing at all for the past couple of months either because of

Guild Ball!

This game came out and swooped me off my feet, along with quite a few other mates, I’ve been playing quite a bit and put together a couple of teams, Butchers and Masons.

It’s a great little game.  Very pleased with how it’s come out and I can see it having a fair bit of longevity.  The models, as seen by the limited Ed I got hold of a while ago are very good quality and absolutely beautiful, which helps.

I built a custom goal out of bits, some kindly donated (thanks Joel) and got it painted, just in time to enter an official competition, which my entry got me into the shortlist just to be pipped by another entry.

Also painted up the limited Ed Boiler

20150421_203738_Richtone(HDR) 20150421_203746_Richtone(HDR) 20150421_203756_Richtone(HDR)

So I still have to paint the rest of the Butchers and the Masons, plus make a custom goal for the Masons.

guildball

Currently painting a Guildball Fishermen team on commission.  Will post pics when done.

Other projects i have on the go are

Puppet Wars!

20150526_195845

Loving this game at the min, it helps that my Wife likes it too so I can get a game regulary.  The Puppet models are ace.  Beautiful and so much fun to paint, painting the whole set and the metals afterwards is gonna be a side project I have.

On this note, if anyone knows a way to print the playtest cards from the Puppet Wars website please let me know, I’d love to be able to have them!

This game is great fun, if you haven’t given it a go, you’re losing out!

Painted these little critters so far

puppets p

Got copy of Dreadfleet on the way too which will become a painting project much like this one for fun.

Also, I textured my gaming board on a whim a few weekends ago, this was after buying some trees for basing, I bought that many it got me thinking about a proper gaming table.  Want to make an Oriental board with Cherry Blossom trees a few Oriental buildings and some water features, this is yet another slow burn project.

CFPDGysWYAEi_SX

So basically I’m putting a self-imposed ban on the buying of anything hobby, unless it is totally essential to complete any project/crew. I intend to stick to this for the rest of the year at least.  Lets see how that works out, I have faith at the min.

That’s all for now, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

